Where I’m From – Nelson County

Where I’m From by Mary Popham, Nelson County

 
I am from the knobs of Nelson County,

from Catholics, bourbon, corn and tobacco.

I am from a country store,  the Monks Road, the Beech Fork River,

the old pike, the public school taught by nuns.

I am from a mama who sewed and  sang, a daddy, the fiddler, who built our  house.

I am from the weeping willow, the  landmark of our home.
I’m from roses, garden vegetables, a  milk cow,

From backyard chickens and  purple martin boxes.

From the poison tree, fried  squirrel and biscuits.

I’m from singing Latin in the church  choir and pig-Latin and the book mobile.
I’m from letters saved and journals kept,

From Landing Run Creek and stories the  aunts told.

From the May March and First  Communion veils.
I’m from the Sears Roebuck catalog and  Elvis pin-ups.

From the wonder of  listening to the blues station on the radio at night,

then standing at the windowsill  dreaming of my future husband.

 

As published on Kentucky Arts Council website established by Kentucky Poet Laureate, George Ella Lyon – Where I’m From

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

